top of page
  • Writer's pictureEast Fx

Buddhist Tourism

The Ministry of Tourism has appointed a National Level Consultant (NLC) to identify

spiritual tourism circuits, including Buddhist Circuits, for integrated development, during

the 12th Plan period, in association with the States/Union Territories (UT).

The names of the Buddhist Circuits identified, on the basis of their tourism potential, in

consultation with States and stakeholders, by NLC are given below:

i. Dharmayatra Circuit: Bodh Gaya (Bihar) – Sarnath (Uttar Pradesh) - Kushinagar (Uttar

Pradesh) – Piparvah (Uttar Pradesh).

ii. Extended Dharmayatra Circuit: Bodh Gaya (Bihar) – Nalanda (Bihar)– Rajgir (Bihar)–

Patna (Bihar)– Vaishali (Bihar)– Vikramshila (Bihar) – Sarnath (Uttar Pradesh) –

Kushinagar (Uttar Pradesh) – Kapilvastu (Uttar Pradesh) – Sankisa (Uttar Pradesh) –

Piparvah (Uttar Pradesh)

While identifying the designated circuits efforts have been made to plug infrastructure

gaps viz- rail/road linkages and provide better amenities to tourists.

No funds have been sanctioned so far to the States/UTs for the identified Circuits.

The States/UTs have set-up respective State Level Monitoring Committees (SLMCs) to

regularly review the progress of tourism infrastructure projects. Ministry of Tourism also

monitors the implementation of projects through Regional Conferences, field inspections

by the officers of the Ministry and periodical review meetings with the State/UT officers.

State Governments/UT Administration are required to submit reports of the State Level

Monitoring Committees to the Ministry of Tourism periodically.

This information was given by the Union Minister for Tourism Dr. K. Chiranjeevi in a

written reply in the Lok Sabha today.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Medical Tourism

In order to promote Medical Tourism in the country, Government has extended the Marketing Development Assistance (MDA) Scheme to include Medical Tourism in its purview in February, 2009. Financial sup


bottom of page